Rates & Fines

On-street meter rate $1.50 / hour
Off-street lots (metered and un-metered) $0.75 / hour
A & C Street garages $1.00 / hour ($10 max)
Meter violation $35.00
Double parked $65.00
Failure to comply with street markings or signs $35.00
Red Zone / No Parking Anytime $65.00
Parked in crosswalk $65.00
Blocking driveway (may be towed) $65.00
Parked in blue zone (without placard) $275.00
Parked in bus zone $250.00
Expired tabs (correctable) $93.00 ($10 if corrected)


When do I have to pay?

On-street meters and lots Mon-Sat, 8 am - 6 pm (Walgreens lot 8 am - 8 pm)
City garages Mon-Sat, 6 am - 11 pm

Parking is FREE on Sundays and the following holidays (2018):

  • New Year's Day (Monday, January 1)
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday (Monday, January 15)
  • President's Day (Monday, February 19)
  • Cesar Chavez Birthday (Friday, March 30)
  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 28)
  • Independence Day (Wednesday, July 4)
  • Labor Day (Monday, September 3)
  • Veterans Day (Monday, November 12)
  • Thanksgiving Day (Thursday,┬áNovember 22 & Friday, November 23)
  • Christmas Day (Tuesday, December 25)

Where can I find long-term (10-hour) meters?

  • 3rd & Lootens Place Parking Structure (Upper level only) (LOT)
  • 1550 4th Street (limited to 2 meters in rear of LOT)
  • Fifth Avenue & C Street (Upper level only) (LOT)
  • 800 Block of Lindaro St (Between 2nd and 3rd St)
  • 1100 Block of Tamalpais Street (West side of railroad tracks)
  • Via Sessi (Off "D" Street)
  • Ritter Street (Between 2nd and 3rd Streets)
  • 800 and 900 Blocks of E Street (Between 2nd and 4th St)

What do the colors on the curbs mean?

Yellow Active Loading, 20 minute max
White Passenger Loading / Unloading (3 minutes maximum)
Green Limited to time posted on curb or sign (20 minutes maximum)
Blue Restricted to vehicles with disabled persons with valid placards / license plates
Red No Parking anytime
Close window