City Council


1400 Fifth Avenue, Room 203
San Rafael, CA 94901
Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Upcoming City Council Events

No events could be found.

City Council Overview

Photography by Jennifer Skinner 

City Council meetings take place the first and third Monday of each month at 6 p.m., and meetings are held at San Rafael City Hall, 1400 Fifth Avenue, San Rafael, CA 94901. If Monday is holiday, the meeting occurs the following Tuesday. The San Rafael City Council consists of our at-large Mayor, Kate Colin, known as "Mayor Kate", and four district councilmembers: Maika Llorens Gulati, Rachel Kertz, Maribeth Bushey, and Vice Mayor Eli Hill.

Mayor (elected at large): Kate Colin
District 1 Councilmember: Maika Llorens Gulati
District 2 Councilmember:  Eli Hill
District 3 Councilmember: Maribeth Bushey
District 4 Councilmember: Rachel Kertz

San Rafael District Map with numbers

The mission of the City of San Rafael is to enhance the quality of life and provide for a safe, healthy, prosperous and livable environment in partnership with the community. Our vision for San Rafael is to be a vibrant economic and cultural center reflective of our diversity, with unique and distinct neighborhoods in a beautiful natural environment, sustained by active and informed residents and a responsible innovative local government.

The Role of the City Council

The role of the City Council is to serve as the governing body of the City representing the community they were elected to serve. The Council exercises the legislative powers of city government, including adopting the annual City budget, approving ordinances and resolutions; setting appropriate tax levies; setting other general tax and service rates. Other responsibilities for City Council Members include giving advice and direction to staff, responding to constituent needs and complaints, communicating policies and programs to residents, making appointments to City boards and commissions, and serving on regional task forces.

Close window