Design Review Board

The Design Review Board (DRB) consists of design professionals appointed by the City Council to provide advice on new development projects and most exterior changes to existing buildings. Applications are evaluated based on our General Plan and Zoning Ordinance design policies and criteria, with the goal of having new projects harmonize with the natural environment and surrounding area.

The Board is advisory, with final permit decisions made by the Planning Division staff, the Zoning Administrator, Planning Commission or City Council, depending on the complexity of the project.  The scope of the DRB authority is to review and make recommendations on design matters such as architecture, mass, bulk, site planning, site improvements, color, materials, and landscaping.

Board Details

Meetings: 1st & 3rd Tuesday of each month - 7:00 p.m
Location: City Hall Council Chambers

Staff Contact:
Steve Stafford, Senior Planner

Board Size: 6 Members
Term Length: 4 Years
Term Limit: 3 Terms

The board is composed of 5 San Rafael residents and qualified design professionals who are appointed by the City Council to four-year terms. The DRB also includes an alternate member. The alternate member only becomes a voting member at meetings where one or more regular Board members are absent.  In addition to the 5 council-appointed board members and 1 alternate member, one Planning Commissioner attends DRB meetings and serves as a liaison. The Planning Commission liaison is present at all DRB meetings to offer advice and direction to the Board on matters of Planning Commission concern and also to report back to the Planning Commission on the discussion at the DRB meeting if that item appears before the Commission.

Additional Resources:
Municipal Code Excerpt or Purpose
PDF Application
Meeting Protocol

Member Roster

Name Term Length Term Limit
Larry PaulJul 01, 2018 to Jun 30, 2022 1st of 3 terms
Stewart SummersJul 01, 2015 to Jun 30, 2019 1st of 3 terms
Jeff KentJul 01, 2017 to Jun 30, 2021 1st of 3 terms
Eric SpielmanJul 01, 2017 to Jun 30, 2021 1st of 3 terms
VacantJul 01, 2016 to Jun 30, 2020 1st of 3 terms
Donald Blayney (Alternate)Jan 01, 2016 to Dec 31, 2019 1st of 3 terms
Close window