A Red Flag Warning has been issued for 11 p.m. Monday, October 19th to 8 a.m. Wednesday, October 21st

All City facilities are currently closed for walk-in service. Please click here to find out more details about the services you are interested in.

COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) information and resources

San Rafael neighborhood street scene

Planning Division

Contact

1400 Fifth Avenue, Top Floor
San Rafael, CA 94901
Public Counters are currently closed
Staff is working remotely and are available to answer questions via email: planning@cityofsanrafael.org

Planning Division

The Planning Division provides information on land use, zoning,  site development standards and processes applications for land use permits and land divisions.  Most projects submitted fall into two categories, Design Review or Use Permit. If you are constructing a structure of any kind, you may need design review. If you are modifying a land use, you may need a use permit. The information below is taken from the San Rafael Zoning Ordinance.

Planning Projects

The planning division regularly prepares a list of all Planning application under review. Information can also be found by searching under projects on our ePermits site. The link below will take you to information on some of the major projects/zoning issues that are either under review or recently approved.

Planning Contacts

Please note: Email contact is preferred during the City Hall Closure and can be returned faster than voicemails

Planning Staff MembersPhoneEmail
Raffi Boloyan, Planning Manager(415) 485- 3095Raffi.Boloyan@cityofsanrafael.org
Anne Derrick, Administrative Assistant III(415) 485- 3068Anne.Derrick@cityofsanrafael.org
Alicia Giudice, Principal Planner(415) 485-3092Alicia.Giudice@cityofsanrafael.org
Steve Stafford, Senior Planner(415) 458- 5048Steve.Stafford@cityofsanrafael.org
Renee Nickenig(415) 485-3397Renee.Nickenig@cityofsanrafael.org
Michele Ginn, Permit Services Coordinator(415) 485- 3116Michele.Ginn@cityofsanrafael.org



Close window