San Rafael neighborhood street scene

Planning Division

Planning Division

The Planning Division provides information on land use, zoning,  site development standards and processes applications for land use permits and land divisions.  Most projects submitted fall into two categories, Design Review or Use Permit. If you are constructing a structure of any kind, you may need design review. If you are modifying a land use, you may need a use permit. The information below is taken from the San Rafael Zoning Ordinance.

Planning Projects

The planning division regularly prepares a list of all Planning application under review. Information can also be found by searching under projects on our ePermits site. The link below will take you to information on some of the major projects/zoning issues that are either under review or recently approved.

Planning Contacts

Planning Staff Members Phone Email
Raffi Boloyan, Planning Manager (415) 485- 3095 Raffi.Boloyan@cityofsanrafael.org
Anne Derrick, Administrative Assistant (415) 485- 3068 Anne.Derrick@cityofsanrafael.org
Steve Stafford, Senior Planner (415) 458- 5048 Steve.Stafford@cityofsanrafael.org
Alicia Giudice, Senior Planner (415) 485- 3092 Alicia.Giudice@cityofsanrafael.org
Caron Parker, Associate Planner (415) 485- 3094 Caron.Parker@cityofsanrafael.org
Alan Montes, Assistant Planner (415) 485-3397 Alan.Montes@cityofsanrafael.org
Michele Ginn, Planning Technician (415) 485- 3116 Michele.Ginn@cityofsanrafael.org
Close window